Using iPads with Multiple Students

Digitalisation in education is making great strides forward. Tablets, Apps and online content are an indispensable part of education. Relution for Education is specially designed for the Educational sector and supports you optimally with the introduction and administration of tablets and apps for a digital classroom.

The latest feature (from Relution version 4.26) is the so called Relution Shared Device Mode. With this new mode, iPads (and in future Android tablets as well) can be safely and securely used by multiple students. Each student gets his own app selection, whereby device-specific configurations for all users apply.

After activating the mode, a login screen appears on the tablet, which you can not leave. After the login, the assigned apps are available to the user, all other apps are hidden. At the same time, a connection to the home directory of the logged on User has been created so that he can store his created content there.

insight-relution-shared-device-mode-2

After logging out, these apps and the content stored in them are removed from the device, so that the next user has a clean working environment. Unlike Apple’s Shared iPad mode, this requires no Managed Apple IDs, making Relution the only MDM solution in the education space to 100% comply with all governmental data security regulations.

Another advantage lies in the way the Relution Shared Device Mode is implemented: it can be dynamically switched on and off at any time, so that student owned tablets can be functionally limited during classes or exams while offering full functions outside school.

insight-relution-shared-device-mode-3

How it works

Relution Shared Device mode requires Relution version 4.26 or above and the Relution iOS app 4.4 or later. iPads need to be supervised. You can then enroll the devices via Device Enrollment Program (DEP) or manually in Relution. Enrolling devices without a user is now supported, too.

Then, the new “Relution Shared Device“ configuration can be used in a policy. This configuration activates the new mode, requiring a login / logout on the devices.

You can now use the new Auto-Deploy feature to assign apps to specific users or groups. You can either reach them by clicking on Settings --> User in the Auto-Deployments tab, or by navigating to Apps --> App Store and clicking on the settings tab of an app.

Now, when a user logs in in the new login window, the system immediately installs the apps previously assigned under Auto-Deployments onto his device. If VPP is configured, the app licenses are also assigned automatically. At the same time, all other app icons are removed (including system apps) and the uninstallation of the assigned apps is blocked.

Hints

- Devices in the Relution Shared Device mode that are in the logged-out state are not assigned to a user. They belong to the "Device User" group of the respective organization.

- This also means that devices can now be enrolled without having to define a user. In addition, you can also change the user after enrolling by clicking on a device in the inventory and change the user in the edit view.

Android specific information will be added to this description as soon as Android support for Relution Shared Device Mode becomes available. Also, the integrated home directory access is currently under development.

Last update: August 2019

Mobile Device & App Management with Relution

Free for up to 10 devices & 5 apps forever. No payment information required.