Introduction

Prior to Android Enterprise the market was flooded with inconsistent management capabilities across various Android manufacturers and app developers. Android Enterprise now offers a set of consistent features and APIs for device management and app management. Additionaly it securely separates corporate and personal data, or enables a purely corporately-owned profile without a user space (so called Containerization). Once provisioned, an Android Enterprise-enabled device no longer needs a Google account in order to install applications. More features are coming to Relution in future to expand capabilities and enable more management types. Google has been steadily adding enterprise management capabilities to the Android operating system, but it's not always clear how the tools and technologies differ from one another or how IT can effectively administer Android devices and apps with them.



Benefits of Android Enterprise

  • - Seperate work container for apps, mails and data
  • - Reliable experience, in which all configurations pushed, are supported by all devices, indepedently of the manufacturer
  • - A managed Google Play Store only with explicitly allowed apps
  • - Silent app installation without the need for a Google account on the device
  • - Managed configurations, similar to iOS Managed App Configuration, a way of deploying corporate settings to managed apps (e.g. Exchange profiles, configurable in Gmail)
  • - Mandatory device encryption
  • - Further deployment scenarios like (fully) work managed or single use (COSU) or several comibnations



Terminology

Android Enterprise

Google renamed Android for Work Android Enterprise and expanded the product to include more robust enterprise features. Android Enterprise is an umbrella term that covers the wide range of security and management features available in the latest Android O



Device Administration API

Google introduced this API in Android 2.2 to provide developers with device administration features at the system level. Although many organizations continue to use this API, it is no longer robust enough to meet today's security and management requirements. For example, the API cannot securely reset device passwords on encrypted devices or establish administrator-defined passcodes to lock a user out of a device. Instead, developers should transition to newer Android technologies when interfacing with the Android operating system (OS). Google plans to start depreciating Device Administration policies in the next Android release.



Modern management APIs

Android provides several APIs for working with the Android and Google Play ecosystems. One of the most important is the Android Management API, which vendors can incorporate into their enterprise mobility management (EMM) platforms to provide customers with tools to provision, secure and help with Android enterprise device management. For strong Android enterprise device management, IT teams should look for EMM products that take full advantage of these APIs, such as Relution.



Enterprise Provisioning

Google supports several options to provision Android devices, such as using QR codes or near-field communication provisioning apps. With the release of Android 8.0 Oreo, administrators can also configure company-owned devices for zero-touch enrollment, which enables a device to automatically enroll itself in EMM when the device is first turned on.



Managed Google Play

The managed version of Google Play combines basic app store functionality with management capabilities to provide IT with a corporate app store option. Administrators can deploy and approve apps, purchase app licenses, manage permissions and carry out other management tasks. End users can browse apps, view app details, install apps on their devices and take other actions, similar to how they might use the public Google Play Store.



Google Play EMM API

When the Google Play API is incorporated into an EMM product, administrators can specify which apps users can download, can control app installations, can manage bulk licensing and can perform a variety of other tasks. The API works in conjunction with Managed Google Play to support the entire app management lifecycle.



EMM app management

The Android Management API includes a number of features specific to app management. An EMM platform that incorporates the API makes it possible for administrators to provision work profiles, apply app-level management policies, secure apps and data, automatically install apps, prevent apps from being uninstalled, distribute public and private apps, and perform other administrative tasks.



EMM device policy controller

A device policy controller is an application installed on an Android device that enables administrators to manage access to corporate apps and data. The controller works in conjunction with EMM to provision work profiles on personal devices and enforce an organization's security policies.



Device Deployment Scenarios

Work Profile

Administrators can use work profiles to support BYOD scenarios. A work profile is a self-contained, fully encrypted workspace installed on the user's smartphone or tablet. The work profile limits administrative control to the workspace rather than to the entire device. It also contains corporate apps, data and policy settings within the profile separate from personal information and operations.
Work Profile - Source: https://developers.google.com/android/work/overview



Company-Owned Device

Formerly known as corp-liable device
A device owned and fully managed by an employee's organization. Company-owned devices can be set up exclusively for work use (fully managed), or to allow both work and personal use (fully managed with a work profile). For more information, see Company-owned devices for knowledge workers.



Dedicated Device

Formerly known as corporate-owned, single use (COSU)
A subset of company-owned devices that are locked down a limited set of apps to serve a dedicated purpose, such as a check-in kiosk or digital signage. For more information, see Company-owned devices for dedicated use.



Android Enterprise Work Profiles and Relution

Requirements

  • - Android version 6.0+ on the devices you want to manage the work profile on
  • - Relution version 4.43 or newer (Android Enterprise Work Profile)
  • - Google Account which has not been associated with an enterprise so far. No domain verification required takes practically minutes to set up and the EMM manages the individual Android Enterprise accounts on the managed devices, meaning there’s no need for additional Google accounts or GSuite user management.



What you can do

  • - Set up and connect your Google Account/Organization with Relution
  • - Enroll a Work Profile container on an Android device
  • - Currently supported policies
    • - Passcode
    • - Work profile passcode
    • - Work profile restrictions
    • - Runtime permission management
    • - Manage work apps



How to

We have documented the whole process in detail in the manual in your Relution (version 4.43 or newer) by pressing the ? button in the main menu and navigating to "Documentation" - Chapter 2 - Android Enterprise. Here is a short version: First of all, you need an unmanaged Google account which is not associated with an organization within Google. Then you navigate to Settings - Android Enterprise in the Relution Portal as an Organization Administrator and follow the described steps.

Android Enterprise Setup Step 1

Android Enterprise Setup Step 2

Android Enterprise Setup Step 3

Now you can create an enrollment with the type "Android Enterprise", like you know it from Relution. As before, you will receive a notification or you can see the link and QR code in the Relution Portal, which is needed to enroll the device. After navigating through the enrollment process on the device itself, you will see a couple of apps with a suitcase icon at the bottom of the app icon. These are the work apps, which are separated from the user profile.



Conclusion

Android Enterprise is a great way to manage devices or the business data on Android devices. We, as the Relution team, started with the most desired use case, the work profile as the first supported scenario, but we are working hard to support all of the above mentions scenarios. Continuously we will add more policies and actions for these types of devices.



Usefull links

Einleitung

Vor Android Enterprise war der Markt mit inkonsistenten Managementfunktionen verschiedener Android-Hersteller und App-Entwickler überflutet. Android Enterprise bietet jetzt eine Reihe einheitlicher Funktionen und APIs für das Geräte- und das App-Management. Darüber hinaus trennt Android Enterprise sicher Unternehmens- und persönliche Daten (sog. Containerisierung). Nach der Einschreibung benötigt ein Android Enterprise-fähiges Gerät kein eigenes persönliches Google-Konto mehr, um Apps zu installieren. Immer mehr Android Enterprise Features finden in Relution ihren Platz. Auch Google hat dem Android-Betriebssystem immer mehr Enterprise-Management-Funktionen hinzugefügt, aber es war früher nicht immer klar, wie sich die Tools und Technologien voneinander unterscheiden oder wie die IT-Abteilung Android-Geräte und -Anwendungen effektiv damit verwalten kann. Dies Ändert sich nun, und wird für Relution Administratoren einfach, sich zurecht zu finden.



Vorteile von Android Enterprise

  • - Eigenständiger Work Container für Apps, Mails und Daten
  • - Einheitliches Verfahren, bei dem alle Konfigurationen unabhängig vom Gerätehersteller funktionieren
  • - Ein verwalteter Google Play Store ausschließlich mit erlaubten Apps
  • - Stille App-Installation ohne Google-Konto auf dem Gerät
  • - Verwaltete Konfigurationen, ähnöich zu iOS Managed App Configurations, also eine Möglichkeit Unternehmeskonfigurationen in den Arbeitsbereich des Gerätes zu setzen (z.B. Exchange Profile, die in die Gmail-App konfiguriert werden können)
  • - Erzwungene Geräteverschlüsselung
  • - Weitere Deployment-Szenarien, wie z.B. Dedicated Device (siehe unten)



Begriffserklärung

Android Enterprise

Google benannte Android für Work in Android Enterprise um und erweiterte das Produkt um robustere Unternehmensfunktionen. Android Enterprise ist ein Oberbegriff, der das breite Spektrum an Sicherheits- und Verwaltungsfunktionen abdeckt, die in den neuesten Android Versionen verfügbar sind.



Device Administration API

Google hat diese API in Android 2.2 eingeführt, um Entwicklern Funktionen zur Geräteverwaltung auf Systemebene zur Verfügung zu stellen. Obwohl viele Unternehmen diese API weiterhin verwenden, ist sie nicht mehr robust genug, um die heutigen Sicherheits- und Verwaltungsanforderungen zu erfüllen. So kann die API beispielsweise Gerätekennwörter auf verschlüsselten Geräten nicht sicher zurücksetzen oder vom Administrator definierte Kennwörter festlegen, um einen Benutzer von einem Gerät auszuschließen. Stattdessen sollten Entwickler bei der Anbindung an das Android-Betriebssystem (OS) auf neuere Android-Technologien umsteigen. Google plant, in der nächsten Android-Version mit der Abschaltung von Richtlinien zur Geräteverwaltung dieses Typs zu beginnen.



Moderne Management APIs

Android bietet mehrere APIs für die Arbeit mit den Ökosystemen Android und Google Play an. Eine der wichtigsten ist die Android Management API, die Anbieter wie Relution in ihre Enterprise Mobility Management (EMM)-Plattformen integrieren können, um Kunden Werkzeuge zur Verfügung zu stellen, die sie bei der Bereitstellung, Sicherung und Unterstützung des Android Enterprise Device Managements unterstützen können. Für ein starkes Android Enterprise Device Management sollten IT-Teams nach EMM-Produkten suchen, die die Vorteile dieser APIs voll ausschöpfen, wie beispielsweise Relution.



Enterprise Provisioning

Google unterstützt mehrere Optionen zur Bereitstellung von Android-Geräten, wie z.B. die Verwendung von QR-Codes oder Near Field Communication Provisioning Apps. Mit der Veröffentlichung von Android 8.0 Oreo können Administratoren auch firmeneigene Geräte für die Zero-Touch-Registrierung konfigurieren, wodurch sich ein Gerät beim ersten Einschalten automatisch im EMM einschreiben kann.



Managed Google Play

Die verwaltete Version von Google Play kombiniert grundlegende App Store Funktionalität mit Managementfunktionen, um der IT-Abteilung eine Enterprise App Store Option zur Verfügung zu stellen. Administratoren können Apps bereitstellen und genehmigen, App-Lizenzen erwerben, Berechtigungen verwalten und andere Verwaltungsaufgaben ausführen. Endbenutzer können Apps durchsuchen, App-Details anzeigen, Apps auf ihren Geräten installieren und andere Maßnahmen ergreifen, ähnlich wie bei der Nutzung des öffentlichen Google Play Store, nur eben eingeschränkt auf die freigegebenen Apps.



Google Play EMM API

Wenn die Google Play-API in ein EMM-Produkt integriert ist, wie bei Relution, können Administratoren festlegen, welche Apps Benutzer herunterladen dürfen, Massenlizenzen verwalten und eine Vielzahl anderer Aufgaben ausführen. Die API arbeitet in Verbindung mit Managed Google Play, um den gesamten Lebenszyklus des App-Managements zu unterstützen.



EMM app management

Die Android Management API enthält eine Reihe von Funktionen, die speziell für das App-Management entwickelt wurden. Eine EMM-Plattform, die die API integriert, ermöglicht es Administratoren, Arbeitsprofile bereitzustellen, Verwaltungsrichtlinien auf App-Ebene anzuwenden, sichere Anwendungen und Daten anzuwenden, Anwendungen automatisch zu installieren, die Deinstallation von Anwendungen zu verhindern, öffentliche und private Anwendungen zu verteilen und andere administrative Aufgaben auszuführen.



EMM device policy controller

Ein Device Policy Controller ist eine Anwendung, die auf einem Android-Gerät installiert ist und es Administratoren ermöglicht, den Zugriff auf Unternehmensanwendungen und -daten zu verwalten. Der Controller arbeitet mit Relution zusammen, um Arbeitsprofile auf persönlichen Geräten bereitzustellen und die Sicherheitsrichtlinien eines Unternehmens durchzusetzen.



Device Deployment Scenarios

Work Profile

Administratoren können Arbeitsprofile verwenden, um BYOD-Szenarien zu unterstützen. Ein Arbeitsprofil ist ein in sich geschlossener, vollständig verschlüsselter Arbeitsbereich, der auf dem Smartphone oder Tablett des Benutzers installiert ist. Das Arbeitsprofil beschränkt die administrative Kontrolle auf den Arbeitsbereich und nicht auf das gesamte Gerät. Es enthält auch Unternehmensanwendungen, Daten und Richtlinieneinstellungen innerhalb des Profils, getrennt von personenbezogenen Daten und Vorgängen.


Work Profile - Quelle: https://developers.google.com/android/work/overview



Company-Owned Device

Früher bekannt als Corp-liable device.
Ein Gerät, das sich im Besitz der Organisation eines Mitarbeiters befindet und von dieser vollständig verwaltet wird. Unternehmenseigene Geräte können ausschließlich für den Arbeitseinsatz (vollständig verwaltet) oder für den Arbeits- und Privatgebrauch (vollständig verwaltet mit einem Arbeitsprofil) eingerichtet werden.



Dedicated Device

Früher bekannt als firmeneigene, einmalige Nutzung (COSU)
Eine Teilmenge von firmeneigenen Geräten, die für einen bestimmten Zweck, wie z.B. einen Check-in-Kiosk oder Digital Signage, auf eine begrenzte Anzahl von Apps reduziert sind.



Android Enterprise Work Profiles und Relution

Anforderungen

  • - Android Version 6.0+ auf dem zu verwaltenden Gerät, auf dem Sie ein arbeitsprofil erstellen möchten
  • - Relution Version 4.43 oder neuer (Android Enterprise Work Profile)
  • - Ein Google Account welcher noch nicht mit einem anderen Unternehmeskonto verknüpft ist. Es ist keine Domain-Verifikation notwendig. Die Einrichtung dauert praktisch nur Minuten und Relution verwaltet das individuelle Android Unternehmenskonto auf den verwalteten Geräten, d.h. es besteht keine Notwendigkeit für zusätzliche Google-Konten oder eine GSuite Benutzerverwaltung.



Aktuelle Möglichkeiten

  • - Erstellen und verbinden Sie Ihren Google Account/Organisation mit Relution
  • - Erstellen sie ein Arbeitsprofil auf einem Android-Gerät
  • - Aktuell von Relution unterstützte Richtlinien
    • - Passwort
    • - Passwort für das Arbeitsprofil
    • - Restriktionen für das Arbeitsprofil
    • - Management von Laufzeitberechtigungen
    • - Verwaltung von verwalteten Apps im Arbeitsprofil



Anleitung

Wir haben den gesamten Prozess ausführlich im Manual in Ihrer Relution Version (4.43 oder neuer) dokumentiert. Zugreifen können Sie sie, indem Sie im Hauptmenü auf die Schaltfläche ? klicken und zu "Dokumentation" - Kapitel 2 - Android Enterprise navigieren. Nun folgt eine kurze Version: Zunächst benötigen Sie ein nicht verwaltetes Google-Konto, das nicht mit einem Unternehmen innerhalb von Google verbunden ist. Dann navigieren Sie als Organisationsadministrator zu Einstellungen - Android Enterprise im Relution Portal und folgen den beschriebenen Schritten.

Android Enterprise Setup Schritt 1

Android Enterprise Setup Schritt 2

Android Enterprise Setup Schritt 3

Jetzt können Sie eine Registrierung mit dem Typ "Android Enterprise" erstellen, wie Sie es von Relution kennen. Wie bisher erhalten Sie eine Benachrichtigung oder Sie sehen den Link und den QR-Code im Relution Portal, der für die Registrierung des Gerätes benötigt wird. Nachdem Sie durch den Registrierungsprozess auf dem Gerät navigiert sind, sehen Sie ein paar Anwendungen mit einem Koffersymbol am unteren Rand des App-Symbols. Dies sind die Work-Apps, die vom Benutzerprofil getrennt sind.



Schlußfolgerung

Android Enterprise ist eine großartige Möglichkeit, Geräte oder die Geschäftsdaten auf Android-Geräten zu verwalten. Wir, als Relution-Team, haben mit dem am häufigsten gewünschten Anwendungsfall begonnen, dem Arbeitsprofil, als erstem unterstützten Szenario, aber wir arbeiten hart daran, alle oben genannten Szenarien zu unterstützen. Außerdem werden wir kontinuierlich weitere Richtlinien und Aktionen für diese Art von Geräten hinzufügen.



Nützliche Links